Norah Jones - Live From Austin, TX - DVD

Peter Hammill - Over+3(Remastered) - CD

299.00Kč  199.00Kč
Ušetříte: 33% z ceny

1. Crying Wolf - 5:13
2. Autumn - 4:18
3. Time Heals - 8:43
4. Alice (Letting Go) - 5:40
5. This Side of the Looking Glass - 7:03
6. Betrayed - 4:48
7. (On Tuesday's She Used to Do) Yoga - 3:58
8. Lost and Found - 7:33
9. Betrayed [*] - 4:47
10. Autumn [*] - 4:49
11. This Side of the Looking Glass [Alternate Take][*] - 4:11

Editorial Reviews:

After the smorgasbord of bonus-track delights that accompanied the 2005 remasters of the early Van Der Graaf Generator/Peter Hammill catalog, it was probably daft to imagine that the remainder of the series would retain that same high quality. But still it is disappointing to suggest that, if you're one of those listeners who really doesn't give a fig for the supposed benefits of "fully remastered sound," and just buys reissues for the extra material -- you probably don't need to bother. It's disappointing because Over really is one of Hammill's greatest albums, not only in terms of the intensity and honesty that hallmarks its contents, but as a performance piece. Graham Smith's violin, Michael Brand's orchestrations and Hammill's own guitar are as tortured (or triumphant) as the lyrics could ever demand, with the "Crying Wolf" riff standing out as one of the greatest moments in rock guitar history -- as great as the savage self-pity that drives "Time Heals" for close to nine minutes; as great as the querulous conclusion that brings "Lost and Found," and the original album itself, to an end. Oh, and the remastering? Unless you've still got your old vinyl salted away somewhere, you simply haven't heard this album properly until you listen to this one -- and imagine that! Thirty years of technological advances, and CDs are just now beginning to sound as full as the LPs they superseded. Three bonus tracks blunt that brilliance somewhat -- not because of anything they do wrong, for all three are amazing -- but because they simply don't fit here and, even if they did, don't we already have them elsewhere? Reprises of "Betrayed" and "Autumn" spin off Hammill's BBC sessions collection, while what the cover describes as an "alternate take" of "This Side of the Looking Glass" is, in fact, another excerpt from the same 1978 Kansas City concert that was raided for Chameleon in the Shadow of the Night, earlier in the series. The album that preceded Over, Nadir's Big Chance, was remastered and reissued with no bonus tracks whatsoever, and is still the masterpiece we always knew it was. Over should have been granted the same grand insularity. ~ Dave Thompson, All Music Guide

Přidat do košíku:

  • 1 Balení skladem

Tento produkt byl přidán dne Sobota 24. leden 2009.

Copyright © 2019 CD-NET. Powered by Zen Cart
Parse Time: 5.645 - Number of Queries: 461 - Query Time: 2.0209597939148